Neil S. Ruskin

Arrested ? available 24/7

You Want Justice Call Now 347-943-1892

We accept credit cards

I Fight hard to Win For You!

More Than 40 Years of Experience Winning Cases

Defending a drunk driving charge

Did you know that the magic number across the United States is 0.07 percent when it comes to the minimum allowed alcohol content in the blood? Anything higher is punishable by law and considered driving while intoxicated. While this number remains constant, when you traverse through the borders of the states, the penalties associated with such a charge vary dramatically.

For instance, did you know that there is no mandatory jail time for first offenders in California, but there is in Georgia? If you travel north to Wisconsin, drunk driving is not even considered a crime if you've never been charged before. Your first charge of drunk driving is simply a civil infraction.

Moreover, in New York, you will lose your license for at least 90 days upon your first offense as a drunk driver. Your second offense results in at least 6 months suspension, and third offense results are the same.

New York will also require an ignition interlock device to be installed in your vehicle in some cases. They require harsher penalties for higher BAC levels, which are considered aggravated levels for a DUI.

If you have been charged with a drunk driving charge in New York, whether it is a first offense or a second or third, you would likely benefit from the immediate procurement of a DUI attorney. An attorney can review the specifics of your case and potentially find areas of error on the part of the arresting officer. Your attorney may also find reasons for your charges to be dropped or penalties reduced significantly.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

visa, mastercard, American Express, discover.