Drivers should beware after drinking
New York is perhaps the hub of New Year’s Eve celebrations in America as countless tourists flock to the city to see the ball drop in Times Square at midnight. This is an event that is commonly central to festivities across the nation as it graces screens from coast to coast. When the ball has dropped at the start of the New Year is officially heralded, many people toast with a glass of champagne or some other alcoholic beverage.
The toast at the start of a New Year is just one of many traditions in the U.S. at which alcohol is generally served. Despite this being a normal and accepted part of life today, critics of those who enjoy their social drinks and then drive home seem to be quite vocal. Some people might even feel that there appears to be all but a war on all drinking and driving as if the social drinker is put on a par with the person who truly is intoxicated.
The fact of the matter is that drinking and driving itself is not illegal. Driving with a blood alcohol content of 0.08 percent or more is illegal. That has been the norm in all 50 states for more than two decades.
Now, however, Quartz reports that Utah has a new law taking effect on December 30, 2018. This law reduces the BAC for which a driver might be charged with drunk driving from 0.08 percent to 0.05 percent. For some people, this means that even one drink might put them at risk for being arrested.