What penalties will you face if convicted for a DUI?
New York City is a bustling place, with drivers packed onto every road and pedestrians on every street. For that reason, the law is tough on people who are convicted of driving while under the influence. DUI charges in New York come with some pretty hefty penalties.
The New York State Department of Motor Vehicles clearly lists out all penalties for any alcohol-related driving violations. If you’re being charged with a DUI for the first time, you could face up to a year in jail and a maximum of $1,000 in fines. You can have your license revoked for six months. A second conviction will get you up to 4 years in jail, up to $5,000 in fines, and an entire year of license revocation. A third conviction and upward will get you up to 7 years in jail, a maximum of $10,000 in fines, and one year of license revocation.
More aggressive DUI-related infractions will also land you heavier penalties. For example, if you’re charged with aggravated driving while intoxicated, you can face a year in jail and a $2,500 fine right off the bat. Three or more convictions for aggravated driving while intoxicated can even result in up to 18 months of license revocation, instead of the year that you see in other DUI-related charges.
As you can see, even a one-time offense can result in heavy consequences. These consequences will continue to increase if it isn’t your first offense. Having a strong defense is key in this situation, and it’s why you may want to consider contacting a legal professional for guidance.
Neil S. Ruskin
188 Montague Street Suite 900
Brooklyn, NY 11201
Local: (718) 237-1547